Columnist Lies About Traffic Stop


“I’m lucky I didn’t get shot. Sirens wailed and when I stopped, two officers were out of the sheriff’s vehicle. When I reached over to turn off the radio and then take my wallet out of my pocket to produce the driver’s license and insurance card, I realized my hands were not at the top of my steering wheel. Danger lurked and official arrogance was to follow.” — Bill Clark

Arrogance yes. But it was all Clark.

When reporters, columnists, supposed truth-tellers actually lie about important things, they make the rest of the industry look bad. And if you lie about the police about a first-person interaction, you damage the reputation of law enforcement:

Columbia Daily Tribune’s Bill Clark:

I can fully understand how easy it is for police to make random stops. I have a rear bumper full of liberal bumper stickers and a dent. My car is old, with 425,000 miles, which probably makes me an aging hippie with a weed habit. So why not pull me over? [Huh? – Dave.]

I’ve just come to appreciate even more the words of those minorities when they speak of harassment and police arrogance. I had a good dose of arrogance on this evening and, in my rear view mirror, the image of the second officer out of the car, his hands ready in case I made the wrong move. My life seemed to be in danger.

I fully understand how a person can lose their respect for law officers. When you are in the shoes of the minority, you learn a lot more about their journey.

Sometimes people lose respect for law officers when jerks lie. The officer in the traffic stop was courteous and professional. 

COP.png

A video was posted on Facebook, and I can’t embed it here. It is also at Independent Journal Review. 

From the article at IJR:

As you can see from the video above, the traffic stop was actually very uneventful. The officers were very respectful as they explained why they were pulling him over.

In fact, it was the driver who did his best to escalate the situation by raising his voice and arguing with one of the officers about the traffic ticket.

At no point does Clark’s life appear to be in danger. 

I’ve watched the entire dashcam video, and agree. Clark asked “What did I do to put other people at risk?’ as he’s getting a ticket. He escalated the situation with his tone, but the officer doesn’t take the bait.

What I find equally offensive are the notions that the officers pulled him over for his multiple left-leaning bumper stickers, and NOW he understands the plight of minorities because he felt in danger. 

Arrogant liars make it hard for everybody. Thank heavens for dashcams. 

Could anyone trust the facts in any of his columns ever again?

 

7 thoughts on “Columnist Lies About Traffic Stop

  1. onwyrdsdream

    I think most people with more than about two bumper stickers are going to be hard to deal with. It signals to me that they wear their passion on their sleeve. If his bumper was chock full of liberal bumper stickers, well, there you go. His passion. And police are the enemy is currently one of the anti-civilization progressive causes.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Persecuted in WI

      I told my youngest when she was learning to drive that anyone with more than two bumperstickers on a single vehicle lost at least 5 IQ points for each extra sticker and that she should keep that mind when she’s out driving around.

      Liked by 3 people

      Reply
      1. librarygryffon

        Within reason. I’d like to think that what they are also makes a bit of a difference. Two cars ago (the one that I had for 10 years) I had four, a Geico caveman (which netted me a really nice coffee mug), and an organ donation on the front bumper, a “US Constitution, all rights reserved”, and the only obnoxious one (depending on your politics) was “An armed man is a citizen, an unarmed man is a subject” on the rear. Amazingingly given where I live, it was never keyed.

        Of course I’ve had my current car for four years now, and haven’t been able to bring myself to put anything on it yet. I probably won’t until it gets more scratched and dented, just in case someone decides to key it.

        Like

    1. bystander

      I see the guy’s 82. He needs to be let go, and probably have a mental health check. After that, he can move to South Carolina and start doing a “podcast” with Bill.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. onwyrdsdream

    I’m wondering what his goal was in his report?
    1) use public sympathy to get out of a ticket
    2) to elevate himself as a hero
    3) to add fuel to the police are evil leftist narrative

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

