Fixed It For You: A Free Speech/Hate Speech Essay


I hate actual hate. I oppose racism, sexist, gender and even sexual orientation/clothing related choice discrimination.

That said, attempts to regulate so-called hate speech are dangerous. We allow speech which inflames emotions, challenges the order, and puts others in a bad light. Short of actual calls for violence, we must put up with speech which is wrong, stupid or even racist. I don’t particularly like offending people, and I don’t like offensive people, but I don’t claim a right not to be offended.

From a blog called PurpleWotsits:

Free speech and the right to challenge ideas is what has made the West so great. Nowhere in human history has a civilisation and peoples ever been afforded the amount of rights and liberties we are afforded in the West, and it is our non-stop questioning of our own ideals, values and beliefs that has allowed our civilisation to grow as has never been seen before. Do you think, that if we were as inclined to limit questioning as we are nowadays, naught but 70 years ago, we would have been able to stop the spread of Fascism and Communism in Europe? If the Nazis or the Stalinists had cried bully when their ideas were challenged, and been allowed to continue propagating their ideologies with no intellectual competition, we would all be undoubtedly living in totalitarian states.Nowhere in human history has a civilisation and peoples ever been afforded the amount of rights and liberties we are afforded in the West, and it is our non-stop questioning of our own ideals, values and beliefs that has allowed our civilisation to grow as has never been seen before. Do you think, that if we were as inclined to limit questioning as we are nowadays, naught but 70 years ago, we would have been able to stop the spread of Fascism and Communism in Europe? If the Nazis or the Stalinists had cried bully when their ideas were challenged, and been allowed to continue propagating their ideologies with no intellectual competition, we would all be undoubtedly living in totalitarian states.

The first sentence needs editing: 

Free speech and the right to challenge ideas is what has made makes the West so great.

We’re still great. Gotta grade things on a curve to come to that conclusion, but we’re still great.

The rest of the essay is worth a read. 

This graphic came from the essay, but I don’t think everybody should be offended. It needs something…can’t quite figure it out.

This entry was posted in Free Speech, Stupid and Evil, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Fixed It For You: A Free Speech/Hate Speech Essay

  1. Thanks for taking some time to do this. I’m not a professional writer nor do I claim to be, so any and all criticism is welcome, seeing as this is my first time trying to write properly. I agree the picture is a bit OTT, probably because of my darker humour.

    Like

    • I wasn’t actually criticizing your writing. You expressed yourself brilliantly. The point I’m making is that when we fall into the “we used to be” or “have made…” verb forms we concede the beach to the idiots.

      Sure the west needs change, but that is BECAUSE OF of the idiots trying to pull us left… We now need change because in the UK,US, Canada, Germany, India and many other so-called civilized nations, the freedom to speak out is being nibbled away by the left.

      Keep fighting using the keyboard. I hope it will be enough.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Well, thanks anyway. Being only 17, the only feedback I’ve ever gotten has been from teachers who tell me I’m wrong because they don’t agree with me and that I don’t use enough “writing techniques”, so knowing what people actually think about what I write is important to me. I’ll be sure not to concede more ground to the left in the future.

        Liked by 2 people

      • crawford421 says:

        PurpleWotsits — read “Politics and the English Language” by Orwell, if you haven’t already. It will likely help you with the things the “teachers” are trying to force on you.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Paul Krendler says:

    Regarding what’s missing from the “Let’s Offend Everybody” flag…if I suggested a star and crescent, I’ll bet I wouldn’t be far off, would I?

    Liked by 4 people

  3. Kmbuchanan says:

    FWIW, it doesn’t have a christian cross either.

    Liked by 1 person

    • My first thought is that Christians wouldn’t be offended, but then I realized that putting the cross on it would offend a whole lot of other people, so yeah, add one (or a ton) to the mix.

      Like

  4. wpdavidd says:

    I think it needs a scary black rifle.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

