People Don’t Have to Agree


Stina from Naps in the Library was a bit tired of angry comments and wrote a zinger of an article.  Like a lot of the internet, it eaves a bit from First Amendment, to the second and over to common sense.  The whole thing is worth a read:

Nowhere in the Constitution of the United States is there the addendum, “and @userXXX98panda must approve of each comment typed.”

The Constitution that we both love, outlining how the country we both love must be governed, guarantees us both the right to be who we are.

You don’t have to like me. You don’t have to like the color of my skin, the gender identity I present, the people I love, the god I may or may not pray to, the ballot I fill out, or the many words that will come out of my mouth over the next four years.

You don’t have to like it. But you have to accept me. Why? Because I’m a human being just like you. More to the point?

I am not going away. This is my country, too, and I’ll be damned if anyone tries to take it away from me or makes it unsafe for the people who live here. This is a country for all of us, not just for people who look, sound, act, and believe as you do. This is a country of freedom and integrity.

Oddly enough, I didn’t ask or even investigate to find out Stina’s politics or even gender. [Update: Stina is Christina.]  These are good words.  I made the best of it stand out in blue.  Excellent stuff.

3 thoughts on “People Don’t Have to Agree

  1. gmhowell

    I do have to take exception to one sentence in the piece: “But you have to accept me.” No. I don’t. I have to tolerate your right to free speech. I don’t have to listen to you or agree with you. You have the right to a religion/lifestyle/whatever of your choosing. I don’t have to agree with those beliefs, or think they are morally, socially, or ethically tolerable. As a legal matter, if you don’t bother me or mine, we’re good. Say what you will, do what you will. Just don’t expect me to agree with it.

    (I didn’t dig any further than reading what you wrote right here. Sneaking in some blog reading at work.)

    On Wed, Dec 7, 2016 at 4:27 PM, Dave Alexander & Company with David Edgren and Gus Bailey – The Artisan Craft Blog wrote:

    > Dave Alexander (formerly ukuleledave) posted: “Stina from Naps in the > Library was a bit tired of angry comments and wrote a zinger of an > article. Like a lot of the internet, it eaves a bit from First Amendment, > to the second and over to common sense. The whole thing is worth a read: > Nowhere in the ” >

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. Grace

      “I have to take exception to one sentence in the piece: ‘But you have to accept me.’ No. I don’t. I have to tolerate your right to free speech. I don’t have to listen to you or agree with you.”

      Exactly.

      I am not singling out this Stina blogger here as I don’t know a thing about him/her nor a thing about his/her beliefs… with that said – as we have seen far too many times to count from the SJWs of damn near every cause celebre over the last however many decades, one can pretty much count on having to endure the exact same rule book being played out over and over again:

      * they demand acknowledgement of their pet issue
      * they demand tolerance of their pet issue/lifestyle/choices/etc.
      * they demand 100% acceptance of the same
      * they demand active participation (US Constitution be damned)
      * they engage in personal destruction tactics if their demands are not met
      * Lather. Rinse. Repeat.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

