I Remember When We Were Free


 

A lot of what there is here was written before our most recent election.  I know it seems a bit over the top, but it still seems right.  We were born to be free.  Freedom of speech, religion and assembly are under attack in America, and the left needs to know we are not taking it.  Regardless of any election, the societal forces of the left will continue to push us farther from the American ideals. If it sounds as if I imagine this as an address to exiles, hunkering near our shortwaves listening to words of hope, well imagine it so, and maybe it will never get to that. — Dave

_________________________________________________________

Remember the story of the frog in the pot of water?  In theory you can increase the heat gradually, and the frog won’t jump out because he gradually adjusts.

I am no frog.A boiling pot

I remember when we were free.

If you said something off the beaten path, or even something which might hurt someone’s feelings, it was not a firing offense.  

No one could reasonable say that ‘hate speech’ should actually be illegal.  We just taught our children that the Klan was evil and wrong. Ignore them, and they’ll go away. If they raise a hand, defend yourself, but don’t let stupid people bait you. 

Cops investigated crimes on campus, not the diversity squad.

I remember when we were free.

No one tried to nibble away at your right to big, sugary sodas or trans fats.  Poison in the food, yeah.  That makes sense.  Nobody went after the best part of the doughnut. [Trans fats are actually delicious. – Dave]

No one suggested that a political candidate should be responsible for violence caused by his opponents.  People would be laughed at for suggesting that someone created an ‘atmosphere of hate’ which caused opponents to run wild.  You threw the first punch and it was all on you. 

We all understood that lives matter.  Some folks spent more time on the unborn, minority or disabled folk’s lives, but we all mattered. We still do, by the way.

I remember when we were free.

No one thought the state made better decisions than parents. 

Crimes were crimes, not because of the level of hate which caused the crime. 

The type of sexual activity which sometimes results in pregnancy was still acceptable. The term PIV didn’t exist, because it still was thought of as sex.  

I remember when we were free.

No one identified themselves primarily by their sexuality or by interest in clothing which might be a mismatch with their birth gender.  These differences existed, but they were less important than religion, education level, family background, ethnic or cultural background and so on.

Religion was accepted as an important part of society.

The science wasn’t settled.

I remember when we were free.

All of the rights in the Bill of Rights were respected.  New rights suggested by non-governmental organizations, the UN the European Union and others were not imagined to be constitutional rights.   Foreigners didn’t get a say in U.S. law.  Ever.

The number of regulations a business faced on a daily basis was relatively low.  The state, federal and local regulations in environment, discrimination and finance were manageable.  

Presidents, presidents-elect and people off the street were all subject to the rule of law.  Find out what Nixon and Agnew actually did, and tell me we don’t owe them both apologies.

I remember when we were free.

Nobody got away with criminal behavior which took place over a number of years by stating that ‘mistakes were made…’  Mistakes happen once.  Multiple actions are often unforgivable.  If you want to apologize, you used the word “I.” 

No one needed to take seminars in compassion, as your parents and church had already taught that lesson.  Teachers didn’t try to teach you about morality except to reinforce the words no, and stop that.  Character Education was not a school thing.

Presidents of the United States felt a primary allegiance to the United States  of America.

I remember when we were free.

If some bozo was on TV jumping on a police car, he’d be in jail by sunup.  No one would empathize. 

We are less free today in large part because of the influence of the American left. They have increased the heat so slowly that we’re supposed to not notice.  I notice.

 

______________________________________________________________

Leftists try sometimes point out that the nostalgic right wants to put Rosa Parks in the back of the bus.  They imagine that we’re so cold-hearted that we long for Jim Crow and barefoot women in the kitchen.

That’s an odd fantasy they keep about us.

The women in my family are strong, talented and as that public radio humorist says above average.  They have great ideas and plans.  I would not have it differently. If they ever choose to be barefoot in a kitchen, with my grandchild crawling around them, it will be a choice.

They will earn more than the men of their generation not because of government action, but because they are worth it.

My God demands that I treat all races and ethnicities as His creation, enemy or not.  My savior treated Samaritans, Israelites and Egyptians the same.  My dad did also.  I’ll follow those examples, and so will a large number of my conservative friends.  Don’t you dare try to imply that I see one of God’s creations as anything other less than another.  Don’t make that accusation just because I pulled a lever, filled out a bubble or put a sign on my lawn.

The guys on my side point out that the southern Democrats who created the KKK and Jim Crow are no kin to us.  In truth, I’m surrounded by the grandchildren of Klansmen every day, and the great-great grandsons and granddaughters of slaves.  Nobody longs for those days.  Not even the southern Democrats.

The Black Lives Matters crowd would have my understanding if they would accept my and your right to live. Oh, and stop rioting.  Civilized people find other ways to make a point. See what you look like.  

Police make mistakes.  Most are not evil. The left can walk a mile in anybodies’ shoes, except the cop’s.  

I do remember when we were free, and it was when we listened to each other without demonizing.  The left loves it some nuance, but go ahead and point out that their War on Poverty has only created more poverty, and suddenly you’re some sort of bigot.  

Notice that teenagers used to get jobs at McDonald’s, and that a whole lot of people working in restaurants today in the south only seem to speak Spanish, and all of a sudden they can’t react with logic.

Explain that sometimes a police officer is justified in shooting even an unarmed, yet violent person, and the nuance disappears.

Explain —  even slowly — that hate speech is legal because the U.S. Supreme Court, our Constitution and hundreds of years of experience tell us it should be…and their darned heads explode.

I am no frog, and I remember when we were free.  Because I remember, and because others remember, freedom will eventually win.  Not with one election, or a dozen.  But because good people chose to remember that they too should be free.

 

 

This entry was posted in freedom, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I Remember When We Were Free

  1. onwyrdsdream says:

    “Leftists try sometimes point out that the nostalgic right wants to put Rosa Parks in the back of the bus. They imagine that we’re so cold-hearted that we long for Jim Crow and barefoot women in the kitchen.”

    I want Rosa Parks to sit where she wants, and ideally, to be able to have a car of her own. Very few people actually want to be on a bus, front or back. Jim Crow was the government commanding business to be racist because a free market would see black people with money and want them as customers, then other businesses would compete for that money… It was a law passed to prevent the market from ending segregation in the parts of society that the government didn’t touch, by touching it. Now, I do admit that I want my women barefoot when they’re in the kitchen. Me too of course. I find it weird so many people wear shoes indoors. Freaks. Mind, I’m usually the one to cook. In my own home I’ve probably had a sandwich made by someone else a maximum of 5 times.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Just as an addendum, because I think this needs to be pointed out, just in case a HRC voter stops by: Jim Crow laws were put in place by Democrats, and eliminated only because Republicans wanted them gone. Democrats fought tooth and nail and fire-hose and noose to keep them.

    Like

  3. shamandin says:

    My wife, as smart and talented as she is, made a decision 21 years ago. Our oldest son was just six months old. She decided that she was missing more than she wanted to of our son’s life. She decided (with my whole hearted support, because it’s what SHE wanted to do), to stay home and raise our children. Later, we decided to homeschool them for part of their education. She handled that, as well. Was it rough to support a family of six on a single salary? Oh, yes. It was what we decided was best for our kids. Now that the kids are older (the youngest is now 15 and she’s wearing us out!), she’s going back to school to get her degree and start her second career. Her first career is almost over, but it’s one that she did and did wonderfully.

    For the longest time, I have done most of the cooking. Not because she can’t, because when I let her cook, she does a wonderful job there, too. I enjoy cooking. It’s one of those things that relaxes me. I like to see the magic of transforming raw ingredients into wonderful dishes that make my teenagers drool. Now, as my health is deteriorating, she cooks more because she wants to take care of me, as I take care of her. Has she spent time over the years in the kitchen barefoot and pregnant? Of course. The key is that she did it because SHE wanted to, not because of anything I forced upon her. My momma raised me better than that. My grandmother, God rest her soul, would arise from her grave and chase me with her wooden spoon if she even suspected that I was making her do it. Both proud Southern women.

    As a man of the South, raised in the traditions of gentlemanly treatment and respect of our womenfolk, I detest folks who disrespect women. I had a moment at Sam’s Club last week where I almost lit into this hick (not redneck, *I* am a redneck, he was a hick – it’s worse) and I had to actively hold my wife back. He was loudly berating his wife all through the refrigerated section. Poor lady, with one toddler in the cart and obviously pregnant with number two, was visibly upset. I wasn’t the only man there giving this idiot pointed glares. On a different note, I’ve been actively slapped by women … for the mere act of holding a door open for her into an office building. Who’s the prejudiced one in these situations? Yet, I’m one of those “deplorables” that shouldn’t be allowed to have a choice.

    Sorry for the rambling. Pain meds kicked in and I’m procrastinating finishing my statistics homework. *shudder*

    — sham

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

