Route 264, Wilson County, NC


UPDATE: I was being deliberately vague.  Is the grammar correct on this sign?  Shouldn’t it be “use this highway?”

 

slow.png

So am I right to say this is wrong, or wrong to say it is wrong?

This entry was posted in Education, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Route 264, Wilson County, NC

  1. Clyde says:

    Well, if you have a New Holland towing a hay rake that’s a lane and a half wide, it might be nice to have some warning. Jus’ Sayin’

    “I’m the son of a 3rd generation farmer
    I’ve been married 10 years to the farmer’s daughter
    I’m a God fearin’ hard workin’ combine driver
    Hoggin’ up the road on my p-p-p-p-plower
    Chug a lug a luggin’ 5 miles an hour
    On my International Harvester.
    [snip]
    Well you may be on a state paved road
    But that blacktop runs through my payload
    Excuse me for tryin’ to do my job
    But this year ain’t been no bumper crop
    If you don’t like the way I’m a drivin’
    Get back on the interstate
    Otherwise sit tight and be nice
    And quit yer honkin’ at me that way.”

    From Craig Morgan “International Harvester”

    Like

    • Clyde says:

      We get a lot of ag traffic on the state highway. Just be glad it’s not a cattle drive. (Ran into one in Durango, Colorado one year.)

      Like

  2. fred4d says:

    Could be worded differently, like “Warning Slow Moving Farm Equipment Next 5 Miles” but I think it is correct unless you believe the State is trying to force slow moving equipment to only use this highway.

    Like

  3. I think the phrase “Slow moving farm equipment” indicates more than one vehicle. I could replace it with “they.” You wouldn’t say “they uses….” I think it should be Slow moving farm equipment use this highway…”

    Oh, and I’m always happy to share the road w/tractors.

    Like

    • Clyde says:

      I’m taking the “slow moving equipment” as singular. If you go for the plural take (hmm, a tractor parade. What fun!?) then you have the ambiguity of the meaning of “use”. Imperative or instructive?

      FWIW, a portion of the local roads is kept clean by the “Beef for Dinner Group”. Not enough cattle drives on the road to warrant a sign warning about that. (Although, they’ll post a “Congestion” sign where cattle trucks get loaded. Two weeks of the year, and it’s really true.)

      Like

  4. In the late 80s, I spent a couple years in South Korea. After the rice crop is harvested, the farmers take over two of the four lanes of Highway 1 [the Seoul to PanMunJom route] and spread the grains of rice on the road to dry. Seriously. If only it had just been the occasional tractor…

    Like

Leave a Reply

